The Presentation of the University of Chicago Medal honoring Dennis, MBA’68, and Connie Keller

On Wednesday, October 28, 2015, the University of Chicago Medal was awarded to Dennis, MBA’68, and Connie Keller. The Keller family celebrated with members of the Founders Circle, trustees, deans, officers, other University leaders, and Keller House student ambassadors with a reception and dinner.

Dennis, MBA’68, and Connie Keller
Dennis and Connie Keller share a passion for transformative education. For more than four decades, they have supported the University’s exceptional educators who challenge their students to develop critical-thinking and problem-solving skills and scholars whose interdisciplinary research spurs insights and innovations.

Thirty years ago, the Kellers established their first major gift to the University, the Ralph and Dorothy Keller Distinguished Service Professorship at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. Today the Kellers’ philanthropy continues through their generous support of several areas of the University, including Chicago Booth, College scholarships, the University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy, the MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics, the Institute for Molecular Engineering, and the Urban Education Institute. Their engagement has taken many forms, including serving in campaign leadership roles and on the Board of Trustees and the Women’s Board. They also connect with undergraduates through Keller House, named after Dennis’s mother, Dorothy Alice Barckman Keller, who enrolled in the College in 1929.

The Kellers are parents of three alumni, Jeffrey B. Keller, IMBA’97; John “Temp” Keller, MBA’07; and David M. Keller, JD’08. Temp’s wife, Kerry H. Keller, AM’12, also earned a degree from the University.

University Medal History
The University of Chicago Medal was established in 1976 by President John T. Wilson and is awarded by the Board of Trustees. It recognizes distinguished service of the highest order to the University by an individual or couple. Since its creation, it has been awarded to 22 individuals.

  • Dennis, MBA’68, and Connie Keller (2015)
  • Joseph Neubauer, MBA’65, and Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer (2013)
  • Joan, AM’55, and Robert, LAB’46, EX’50, Feitler (2011)
  • J. Parker Hall III, EX’54, and Julie Hall (2008)
  • Gwen and Jules F. Knapp (2007)
  • Edgar D. Jannotta (2006)
  • Gerald Ratner, PhB’35, JD’37 (2005)
  • Marion M. Lloyd (2004)
  • Lindy Bergman, LAB’35, AB’39 (1996)
  • Max Palevsky, PhB’48, SB’48 (1996)
  • William B. Graham, SB’32, JD’36 (1992)
  • Irving B. Harris (1992)
  • Gaylord Donnelley (1991)
  • Joseph Regenstein Jr. (1991)
  • John U. Nef Jr., LAB 1916, EX 1917 (1980)
  • Florence Lowden Miller (1976)
  • Helen A. Regenstein (1976)