Nominations for the 2016 Professional Achievement Awards will be accepted until August 1. Alumni award nominations are accepted year-round; Norman Maclean Faculty Award and Alumni Service Award nominations now qualify for the 2017 awards cycle.

In 1941, the University of Chicago granted its first alumni medals and public service awards, establishing a long tradition of honoring our distinguished and committed alumni—those who have shaped the world and strengthened our global alumni community.

To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the alumni awards, celebrate outstanding members of the University community with the Alumni Association at events throughout 2016, including the Diversity Leadership Awards, Volunteer Caucus, the Nora and Edward Ryerson Lecture, and more.

2016 Recipients

The 2016 alumni awardees have affected both the University of Chicago and the global community.

Professional Achievement Award

Lawrence M. Friedman

AB’48, JD’51, LLM’53

  • Professor, Stanford Law School

Gary Haugen


  • Founder and CEO of International Justice Mission

Gordon Quinn


  • Cofounder and Artistic Director, Kartemquin Films

Chicago, Illinois

Elizabeth Smith


  • Former Executive Director, The Hyams Foundation

Eugene Van Scott

SB’45, MD’48

  • Dermatologist and Skin Biologist

Alumni Service Award

Dalita Balassanian


  • Policy Specialist, Executive Office, Corporate Strategy and Governance Unit at the United Nations Development Programme

Brooklyn, New York

Neil Faust

AM’86, MBA’91

  • Director, Strategic Investment Group, Corporate Finance & Strategic Investment Department, Eisai Co. Ltd.

Tokyo, Japan

Young Alumni Service Award

Shalin Desai


  • Thru-Hiker, Pacific Crest Trail Association

Hudson, Massachusetts

Norman Maclean Faculty Award